Video Teaser: Jazz Modes

Here is a short teaser for the video content that will be coming to later this year.

The video is a demonstration of the modes of the major scale, with each mode transposed to start on C. The modes are ordered by sound, brightest to darkest:

  • Lydian
  • Ionian (major scale)
  • Mixolydian
  • Dorian
  • Aeolian (natural minor)
  • Phrygian
  • Locrian

By listening to and playing these modes back to back in this manner, your ear will become accustomed to the unique sound color of each mode. Notice that only one note changes between each mode.